Travel ban sa South Africa, Botswana dahil sa bagong covid variant

INAPRUBAHAN Biyernes ng gabi ng Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) ang travel ban sa South Africa at Botswana sa harap ng banta ng bagong variant na B.1.1. 529

Kinumpirma ni Acting presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles na epektobo ang ban hanggang Disyembre 15, 2021.

“The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) approved on Friday, November 26, 2021, the temporary suspension of inbound international flights from South Africa, Botswana, and other countries with local cases or with the likelihood of occurrences of the B.1.1.1529 variant. This shall take effective immediately and until 15 December 2021,” sabi ni Nograles.

Inatasan din ng IATF ang Bureau of Quarantine na isailalim sa quarantine ang mga dumating mula sa mga apektadong bansa sa nakalipas na pitong araw.

“These travelers shall be required to undergo full 14-day facility-based quarantine with RT-PCR test on the 7th day or upon location of the passenger, whichever is later, with the date of arrival as Day 1,” dagdag ni Nograles.

Bukod sa South Africa at Botswana, apektado rin ng travel ban ang mga kalapit na bansa nito na Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, at Mozambique.

“Passengers coming from or having been to these abovementioned countries within the last 14 days prior to arrival shall be temporarily barred from entering the country,” ayon pa kay Nograles.